Tafelmusik Chamber Choir wraps up its 40th-anniversary season with a magical evening of Bach family motets and chorales written for choir and continuo, including such treasures as Jesu, meine Freude and Singet dem Herrn.

Tafelmusik presents a magical evening of motets and chorales written by members of the Bach family, including such treasures as J.S. Bach’s Jesu, meine Freude and Singet dem Herrn. The choral selections are interwoven with excerpts from Bach’s solo instrumental music, including the sublime Sarabande for cello from the Suite no. 5 in C Minor performed by Keiran Campbell, the Giga from the Partita in D Minor for violin performed by Geneviève Gilardeau, and preludes for organ and harpsichord, performed by Charlotte Nediger.   

“This concert concluding the choir’s 40th-anniversary season is a very special one for us, offering a many-hued tapestry of motets by Bach and his forbears. Bach’s motets are among the most challenging yet rewarding works written for singers, and we interweave them with intimate works for solo instruments. We are looking forward to performing this concert before a live audience in the welcoming surroundings of Eglinton St George’s United Church.” —Ivars Taurins

Box Office
Tafelmusik Box Office
1 (833) 964–6337 | Email
Running Time
80 minutes
Style of Music
Chorale, Baroque

Eglinton St. George’s United Church, 35 Lytton Blvd, Toronto

June 18, 2022 8:00 pm


Ivars Taurins director
Tafelmusik Chamber Choir


Johann Sebastian Bach Suite no. 6 in G Major, BWV 1012: Allemande

J.S. Bach Prelude in C Major, BWV 870b

J.S. Bach Kyrie-Christe, du Lamm Gottes, BWV 233a

J.S. Bach Sonata in C Major, BWV 1005: III. Largo

J.S. Bach Motet: Ich lasse dich nicht

J.S. Bach Prelude in F Major, BWV 880

J.S. Bach Motet: Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf, BWV 226

J.S. Bach Partita in D Minor, BWV 1004: Giga

J.S. Bach Chorale: Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 358

Johann Michael Bach Motet: Halt, was du hast

J.S. Bach Suite no. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011: Sarabande 

Johann Christoph Bach Sterb-Aria: Mit Weinen hebt sichs an

J.S. Bach Flute Partita, BWV 1013, arranged: Bourree anglaise

J.S. Bach Motet: Singet dem Herrn, BWV 225

J. Ch. Bach Sterb-Aria: Es ist nun aus

What to expect from a live concert

Here’s what you can expect from your in-person concert experience:

  • Signs to help you find your way and keep you safe
  • Helpful and informed Front of House staff
  • Programs sent in advance by email and available by QR code at the concert
  • Fantastic acoustics and beautiful music!

Tafelmusik operates in accordance with public health mandates and venue policies. Physical distancing in indoor settings has been eliminated, as has the need to provide proof of vaccination for public entry to venues. Masking is also not required, but strongly recommended in indoor settings. Any changes to policy or additional requirements will be communicated by email to ticketholders in advance of their performance, and reasonable accommodations will be made. For more information, please visit our Health and Safety page.

Season Presenting Sponsor

Explore Baroque

Behind the Musik

In this blog post, hear from Tafelmusik cellist Keiran Campbell on his relationship with Bach’s cello suites.

More Reading

Below, explore more articles and content related to this program.


J.S. Bach