An introduction to Passions of the Soul by Music Director Elisa Citterio

Elisa Citterio. Photo by Daniel Banko, Banko Media

The ultimate goal of musicians is to touch the heart of the listener, to describe the passions of the soul in order to evoke emotion, calm troubled minds, and leave space for that subtle energy to transport us to another dimension. There are infinite fleeting emotions to convey, and researching a specific piece allows us to know exactly where we want the music to take us. The tempo, the instrumentation, the historical context in which a composer lived, the performer: all of this inspires different emotions and contributes to what makes each page of music unique.

When a voice is added to instruments, it’s natural to listen to the text and savour the words and music together while entering into the vivid retelling of the story, feeling a little more immersed in it. Without recourse to text, instrumentalists try to evoke what the music itself suggests; we try to express everything we have to say through sound, the choice of tempo, dynamics, articulation, and breath.

In curating this program, I have selected pieces that give rise to a wide range of emotions. I hope you enjoy it!

Elisa Citterio
Music Director


Jean-Marie Leclair

Ouverture to Scylla et Glaucus

Giuseppe Tartini

Concerto for violoncello in A Major
Allegro – Larghetto – Allegro assai
Keiran Campbell, violoncello soloist

Pietro Antonio Locatelli

Sinfonia Funebre
Lamento – Alla breve mà moderato – Grave – Non presto – La Consolatione

Michel Richard de Lalande

Chaconne from Les fontaines de Versailles

Johann Christoph Pez

Orchestral suite in D Minor
Ouverture – Entrée – Aria – Rondeau – Menuet – Gigue

Johann Sebastian Bach

Concerto for 3 violins in D Major, after BWV 1064 (transcribed by C. Nediger)
Allegro – Adagio – Allegro
Elisa CitterioJulia Wedman & Patricia Ahern, violin soloists

Georg Philipp Telemann

Suite in B-flat Major “La Bourse” (The Stock Exchange)
La guerre en la paix (War in peacetime)
Les vainqueurs vaincus (The victors vanquished)
La solitude associée (Communal solitude)
L’espérance de Mississippi (The hope of the Mississippi)

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
Directed by Elisa Citterio

Violin Elisa CitterioPatricia AhernChristopher VerretteJulia WedmanCristina Zacharias
Viola Patrick G. JordanBrandon Chui
Violoncello Keiran Campbell
Double Bass Pippa Macmillan
Oboe John AbbergerMaro Cera
Bassoon Dominic Teresi
Lute/Guitar Lucas Harris
Harpsichord Charlotte Nediger

Thank You to our Generous Donors

Tafelmusik is deeply grateful to our generous donors who have continued to support us through this challenging time. Your support has inspired us to remain strong and to deliver joy to our community through our music, and will enable us to persevere until we can once again perform live for you, our cherished patrons. Thank you for believing in Tafelmusik and in the power and beauty of music.

If you would like to make a gift, please click here or contact us at

Canada Council for the Arts Ontario Arts Council Toronto Arts Council

Credit: Elisa Citterio by Daniel Banko, Banko Media