Go to Program Listing

An introduction to Il Seicento by Music Director Elisa Citterio

Elisa Citterio. Photo by Daniel Banko, Banko Media

Il Seicento is a program that explores the evolution of Italian instrumental music written in the first half of the 17th century. When performing this music, vocality is the first point of reference, and one searches for “words” in the sound of the strings. At the same time, the rhythm of the dance is ever present. These two fascinating aspects of early baroque music alternate in a seamless cadence of contrasting affects and sounds.

In curating this program, I strove to order the pieces such that the musical chiaroscuri were connected by different voices each time, improvising short bridges between the pieces. In this way we have created a series of little musical adventures, each an excursion through various passions.

The Lute Player, Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio, c. 1596
The Lute Player by Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio, c. 1596

When playing or hearing this music my mind’s eye turns to Caravaggio’s paintings, works which forever changed Italian and European art. Reality is described without veils, with its natural light and shade, highlighting the contrasts and the drama. The message of this art and this music resonates particularly deeply at this extraordinary time: we are reminded that midst the darkness of daily worries, beautiful moments can be enjoyed in the light.

Elisa Citterio
Music Director

Il Seicento
Thursday, February 18, 2021


Maurizio Cazzati

Capriccio sopra sette note (1659)

Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger

Sinfonia XVII à 4 con due bassi (1615)
Canario (1640)
Sinfonia XIII à un canto (1615)

Andrea Falconieri

Canzon à 3 detta L’infante archibizzara (1650)

Biagio Marini

Capriccio, che due violini sonana quattro parti (1629)
Passacalio à 4 (1655)
Sonata sopra la Monica (1629)

Domenico Gabrielli

Sonata a violoncello solo, con il basso continuo

Alessandro Piccinini

Partite variate sopra quest’Aria francese detta l’Alemana (1623)

Giovanni Maria Trabaci

Gagliarda terza (1603)

Dario Castello
fl. 1620s

Sonata XV à 4 (1629)

Marco Uccellini

Aria sopra la Bergamesca (1642)

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
Program curated by Elisa Citterio, Music Director

Violin Elisa CitterioPatricia Ahern & Christopher Verrette
Viola Brandon Chui
Viola da gamba Felix Deak
Violoncello Keiran Campbell
Violone Pippa Macmillan
Theorbo/Guitar Lucas Harris
Harpsichord/Organ Christopher Bagan

Thank You to our Generous Donors

Tafelmusik is deeply grateful to our generous donors who have continued to support us through this challenging time. Your support has inspired us to remain strong and to deliver joy to our community through our music, and will enable us to persevere until we can once again perform live for you, our cherished patrons. Thank you for believing in Tafelmusik and in the power and beauty of music.

If you would like to make a gift, please click here or contact us at donations@tafelmusik.org.

Winter Season Presenting Sponsor

Winter Season Presenting Sponsor: BMO Financial Group

Thank you to our government sponsors

Canada Council for the Arts Ontario Arts Council Toronto Arts Council

Credit: Elisa Citterio by Daniel Banko, Banko Media